I began reading Star Wars The Force Awakens by Alan Dean Foster a few days ago, and I’m enjoying it so far. I’ve hit the halfway mark (just after the pretty pictures) and, apart from slight additions to dialogue, it seems to follow the movie to a T. Not surprising, since I think the author worked from the film’s script. Could be wrong on that. One difference I have noticed is that the book is pushing Rey and Finn’s (possible) romantic relationship a little bit more, such as when they first escape the First Order’s TIE fighter pilots on Jakku. Aboard the Millenium Falcon, they have a moment when they stare into each other’s eyes, speaking only to address why they are doing such an action. Love.

I still have a little over 100 pages left, but I’m sure I will give it at least a 4/5 on Goodreads. Come to think about it, I don’t know if I have ever read a novel about a Star Wars movie. Previously, I read the Thrawn trilogy (Champions of the Force?) and the Jedi Academy trilogy (the one where one of Luke’s students goes force AWOL), but I’ve never read anything directly relating to the movies. Maybe that’s an activity I should get into.

I am glad that I’ve seen the movie a few times though, which helps me envision the characters and plot sequences a little bit better. There are also more fine-grained details in the book, like what happens to Fin after he crash lands on Jakku. It also goes into the thoughts, feelings, or fears that characters have during various scenes, like the nervousness Poe felt when the First Order troopers somehow took out his X-Wing, or when he was made immobile by a tall, shadowy figure in a metal mask.

Lastly, I got the book from my local library. I can’t talk enough about the benefits of libraries. I mean, the membership was free, renting the book was free, it was all free. Free, free, free! And you’re not even restricted to books. You can check out DVDs, CDs, eBooks, and video games. So, if you haven’t, check out your local library, get yourself a library card, and start taking advantage of those benefits.

-E.B. Alexander

